![]() |
|
|
March, 2005 |
|
|
|
|
|
Intellectual Property
India’s leading corporate house, Tata Sons Ltd. wins battle against misappropriation of domain name.
March, 2005 Ruling in favour of India's leading corporate house, the Delhi High Court has recently restrained a Chinese online gambling entity from using the name of 'Tatas'. Transferring the domain name 'tatainfotecheducation.com' in favour of Tata Sons Ltd, the Court decreed the lawsuit filed by the corporate major against Fashion ID Ltd., a Chinese entity and its proprietor. The ex-parte order restrains the defendant (Fashion ID Ltd), its servants, agents and assigns and all others acting on its behalf from conducting any business or in dealing in any manner including using domain name 'tatainfotecheducation.com' or the word 'Tata' or any name comprising of the same or deceptively similar to it regarding any goods, services or domain. It was alleged that the Chinese entity had snapped and misappropriated the domain name, which was due for renewal on May 9, 2002, with the Registrar, Network Solutions, Inc. The Court Order directed the domain name registration in favour of Fashion ID to be cancelled and the domain name 'tatainfotecheducation.Com' transferred to Tata Infotech Ltd (TIL). |
| |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| Disclaimer: The matters contained in the Newsletter are merely informative in nature and are not meant to constitute legal advice. Copyright: Copyright of all contents in the Newsletter vest with Kachwaha & Partners. |